DR Congo Forfeits AfroBasket U18

9:52 AM Theophilus Mensah 0 Comments

FIBA Africa website reports that three days into competition, the Democratic Republic of Congo's team has still not shown up in Maputo and have ruled out of the event. As such the number of teams participating in the event now has been reduced to eleven instead of the original twelve. Group A, which includes Ghana has now been reduced to five teams.

DR Congo qualified for the tourney after coming tops in the FIBA Africa Zone IV tournament, an event that just between them and neighboring Congo-Brazzaville due absence of other member countries not showing up. Other members of zone IV include Cameron, Central African Republic, Chad, São Tomé and Príncipe, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea

You Might Also Like